Welcome to the Gonzo UK and European web site.

Your IP address indicates that you are browsing from: United States.

Although you can purchase from here in UK Pounds (£) you may wish to check out our US site with prices in $ at www.gonzomultimedia.com

Captain Beefheart - Live at the Country Club, Reseda, California 1981 (2CD)

Genre: Pop/Rock
Release Date: 17th June 2016

Label: Gonzo
Catalogue Number: GZO109CD
Price: £10.99
Available: In stock

Captain Beefheart - Live at the Country Club, Reseda, California 1981

Don Van Vliet (born Don Glen Vliet; January 15, 1941 – December 17, 2010) was an American musician, singer-songwriter, artist and poet known by the stage name Captain Beefheart. His musical work was conducted with a rotating ensemble of musicians called the Magic Band (1965–1982), with whom he recorded 13 studio albums. Noted for his powerful singing voice with its wide range, Van Vliet also played the harmonica, saxophone and numerous other wind instruments. His music blended rock, blues and psychedelia with avant-garde and contemporary experimental composition. Beefheart was also known for exercising an almost dictatorial control over his supporting musicians, and for often constructing myths about his life.
As Beefheart.com put it: "Autumn 1980 through January 1981 captain Beefheart and the Magic Band promoted their latest album, doc at the radar station, with a tour in Europe and the States. However, as don hadn’t performed live for well over a year and a half, it took a while before he found the right groove. After a terrible first week, the group came into shape (also because last-minute member Richard Snyder ‘fell in place’) and when the band returned to the USA in late november it was tight. One of the last concerts of what would turn out to be Beefheart’s last tour, took place on 29.01.81 in one of the many towns surrounding Los Angeles"


Disc 1

  1. Hair Pie (instrumental)
  2. Nowadays A Woman’s Gotta Hit A Man
  3. I Wanna Find A Woman That’ll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go
  4. Hot Head
  5. Ashtray Heart
  6. Dirty Blue Gene
  7. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or The Big Dig)
  8. Best Batch Yet
  9. Safe As Milk
  10. One Red Rose That I Mean (instrumental)
  11. China Pig

Disc 2

  1. Sue Egypt (cut)
  2. Doctor Dark (cut)
  3. Bat Chain Puller
  4. My Human Gets Me Blues
  5. Sugar ‘N’ Spikes
  6. Sheriff Of Hong Kong
  7. Kandy Korn
  8. Veteran’s Day Poppy
  9. Big Eyed Beans From Venus


Browse By Genre

New Releases
All the latest products

New and up-coming

Gonzo Web Radio
Interviews with Gonzo Artists

Gonzo Artists
Biographies, photos and more

Browse the Gonzo Label catalogue

Mailing List