Welcome to the Gonzo UK and European web site.

Your IP address indicates that you are browsing from: United States.

Although you can purchase from here in UK Pounds (£) you may wish to check out our US site with prices in $ at www.gonzomultimedia.com

Jon And The Nightriders - Surf Beat 80 (CD)

Genre: Pop
Release Date: 1st October 2012

Label: Crossfire
Catalogue Number: 9515-2
Price: £9.99
Available: Sorry - Not currently available

Jon And The Nightriders - Surf Beat 80

Here is the first-ever CD reissue of Jon & The Nightriders' debut album from 1980 with 6 additional bonus tracks - all unreleased! Surf Beat '80 was a major statement in the surf revival that started the previous year. Lots of people noticed, including none other than Dick Dale! In fact, Dick Dale provided liner notes for the original release, which have been reproduced here along with John Blair's own notes about the band and the album sessions. All of the tracks have been remixed for maximum impact! The late Greg Shaw, owner of the L.A.-based Bomp Records label, had the idea for this album after hearing the band's debut single in 1979. (Don't worry - we'll include those tracks on a later release!) Shaw wanted to release an entire surf instrumental album by Jon & The Nightriders on Bomp. The band lineup for Surf Beat '80 was John Blair (lead guitar), Dusty Watson (drums), Jeff "Niki Syxx" Nicholson (bass), and the late Ed Black on rhythm guitar (under the pseudonym Eddy B'Gianni). Ed Black was a well-known session player specializing in the country-rock arena, and his impressive participation on this album was greatly appreciated. The six bonus tracks were recorded shortly afterward with new rhythm guitarist Dave Wronski. To promote the album, the band hit the road and reached audiences in many different countries. The surf revival was on! The surf classics, rarities and originals on Surf Beat '80 set the bar for further Jon & The Nightriders releases.

1. Banzai Washout
2. Kamikaze
3. Bombora
4. Riptide
5. Rumble At Waikiki
6. Mr. Moto
7. Surf Beat
8. Depth Charge
9. The Force Of Gravity
10. Latin'ia
11. Bombay Beach
12. Super Jet Rumble
13. Baja
14. Moment Of Truth
15. BONUS TRACKS: Surfari
16. Journey To The Stars
17. Over The Rainbow
18. The Truant
19. Surf Rider
20. Suicide Bay


Browse By Genre

New Releases
All the latest products

New and up-coming

Gonzo Web Radio
Interviews with Gonzo Artists

Gonzo Artists
Biographies, photos and more

Browse the Gonzo Label catalogue

Mailing List