Welcome to the Gonzo UK and European web site.

Your IP address indicates that you are browsing from: United States.

Although you can purchase from here in UK Pounds (£) you may wish to check out our US site with prices in $ at www.gonzomultimedia.com

Merrell Fankhauser - The Best Of (2CD)

Genre: Pop/Psychedelic
Release Date: 31st July 2011

Label: Gonzo
Catalogue Number: HST074CD
Price: £10.99
Available: Sorry - Not currently available

Merrell Fankhauser - The Best Of

Merrell Fankhauser was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and moved to California when he was 13 years old. This move was to have a life changing-effect on the teenager. Merrell went on to become one of the innovators of surf music, enjoying success with his band The Impacts and also a hit album entitled Wipe Out. Merrell went on later in the sixties to branch out into psychedelic folk rock.

His travels from Hollywood to his 15-year jungle experience on the island of Maui have been documented in numerous music books and magazines in the United States and Europe. Merrell has gained legendary international status throughout the field of rock music: his credits include over 250 songs published and released.

The Best Of Merrell Frankhauser is just that: the best tracks selected from Merrell’s entire career and across a two-CD set and more than thirty tracks, you can track the progress of Merrell Frankhauser’s career. All the tracks have been selected personally by Merrell and the album covers the period from 1964 right through to the present, and covers all the bands Merrell was involved with including his early band Merrell and The Exiles. Tracks include Too Many Heartbreaks, She’s Gone, I’m Flyin’ Home, Goin’ South and also a number of previously unreleased tracks.

Merrell Frankhauser has a long and varied career, and also a proven sales track record and this double Best Of compilation will act as not only a primer for new fans but also a good cross-section of tracks from his career for long-term fans.

Disc 1
1. Too Many Heartbreaks
2. She's Gone
3. Lila
4. Supermarket
5. Drivin' Sideways On A One Way Street
6. Girl I Am Waitin' For You
7. I Am Flying Home
8. The Clouds Went That Way
9. One More Day
10. The Land of Mu
11. Blue Jay Blue
12. On Our Way To Hana
13. Garden In The Rain
14. Make A Joyful Noise
15. Dharmic Connection
16. Some Of Them Escaped It All

Disc 2
1. Calling From A Star
2. Alien Talk
3. Matthew's Dream
4. Waterfall
5. Who Can You Call?
6. Workin' In The City
7. Flying To Machu Picchu
8. Goin' South
9. Queen Mu
10. Haiku Jam
11. Tale of Misty Mountain
12. Move To Higher Ground
13. Two Vegetarians
14. Surfin Pismo
15. When Merrell Met Jane
16. Tiki Lounge


 Review: REVIEW: The best of Merrell Fankhauser


I've been listening to music seriously for the last, oh I would say, 45 years but this is the first time I've heard about this gentleman that has been around from the early '60s…As they say, we can't know them all and it is certainly the case in music.

 For an introduction to this man's work, I got this 2 cd /32 tracks compilation, nothing less! His type of music is being called "Surfadelica", a term unknown to me yet, but I must agree as it suits the music very well. You can hear some of that California's feeling in songs like: "Lila", a very Mama and the Papas tune. The first seven songs are sort of cute, simple and catchy melodies with the 60's flavor all over the place; something old hippies like me can dig. You can hear some fuzzy guitars, trumpet, acoustic parts, Hammond Organ, psychedelic tones and love lyrics. "Flying to Machu Picchu" is where psychedelia is the most obvious. Right after that number you can hear a very sweet acoustic song called "Goin'South, very reminiscent to vintage America (the band). A nicely melodic instrumental piece. After a break of a more upbeat song ("One More Day"), a series of more acoustic melodies follow to close pretty much disc 1. Mandolin, violins and psyched are found on "The Land of MU". Then more acoustic guitars on "Blue Jay Blue", still with the psychedelic mode. This continues on with more acoustic guitars, violin, country/folk and that Surfadelica vibe.

Second disc was not, for me at least, as interesting. My notes read: "almost good and catchy; lacks enthusiasm…Still Mr. Fankhausser was able to pull some nice psychedelia from his sleeves. I could have done without the Reggae, bouncy keyboards and low-fi moments of some tracks. "Matthew's Dream" has very hippy like lyrics and acoustic riffing. This cool song is followed by something Pink Floyd could have written; "Waterfall" is full of atmosphere with cool acoustic arpeggios, nature samplings and slide guitar. Fast forward to song # 9, "Queen MU" for some 12 strings riffs and a modern folksy tone. Then there are a nice series from track 11 to 14 following. A country-bluesy song with a slide solo on "Tale of Misty Mountain"; a country style with harmonica on "Move to Higher Ground"; a good ol'rockin' song follows with "Two Vegetarians" all that closing up nicely with a surfin' a la The Ventures "Surfin 'Pismo". I would have hope for the disc ending there but…the last two songs are a boring failed love song and a club Med. Exotic poppy and cheesy song…

Lots of good cute and psychedelic tunes to enjoy for you on this compilation.

Track listing:
Disc One
1- Too Many Heartbreaks
2- She's Gone
3- Lila
4- Supermarket
5- Drivin' Sideways (On a One Way Street)
6- Girl I am Waitin' For You
7- I am Flyin' Home
8- The Clouds Went That Way
9- One More Day
10- The Land of MU
11- Blue Jay Blue
12- On Hour Way to Hana
13- Garden in the Rain
14- Make a Joyful Noise
15- Dharmic Connection
16- Some Of Them Escaped it All.

Disc two:
1- Calling From a Star
2- Alien Talk
3- Matthew's Dream
4- Waterfall
5- Who Can You Call?
6- Workin' in the City
7- Flying to Machu Picchu
8- Goin' South
9- Queen MU
10- Haiku Jam
11- Tale of Misty Mountain
12- Move to Higher Ground
13- Two Vegetarians
14- Surfin'Pismo
15- When Merrell Met Jane
16- Tiki Lounge
Added: September 16th 2013
Rainbow Bridge Revisited
DVD/CD - £9.99

Area 51 Suite
2CD - £9.99

Tiki Lounge Vol 1
DVD/CD - £12.99

The Best Of
2CD - £11.99

The Return To Mu
CD - £9.99

Tiki Lounge Vol 2
DVD/CD - £12.99

Browse By Genre

New Releases
All the latest products

New and up-coming

Gonzo Web Radio
Interviews with Gonzo Artists

Gonzo Artists
Biographies, photos and more

Browse the Gonzo Label catalogue

Mailing List