Welcome to the Gonzo UK and European web site.

Your IP address indicates that you are browsing from: United States.

Although you can purchase from here in UK Pounds (£) you may wish to check out our US site with prices in $ at www.gonzomultimedia.com

Anthony Phillips - Private Parts & Pieces 1 and 2 (CD)

Genre: Prog rock
Release Date: 13th December 2010

Label: Floating World
Catalogue Number: VP532CD
Price: £9.99
Available: Sorry - Not currently available

Anthony Phillips - Private Parts & Pieces 1 and 2

Anthony was a founder member of the British Rock band Genesis. Ant was born in December 1951 in London. In 1965 Ant found himself at Charterhouse Public School. It was here that he met up with Peter Gabriel, Mike Rutherford and Tony Banks. It was also at Charterhouse that the pre Genesis band Anon got together and performed at a concert playing three Rolling Stones songs. At this time there were two bands at Charterhouse The Anon and The Garden Wall. In 1967 various factions of both bands joined forces and became one band. This band was to go on to become Genesis.

Anthony recorded the albums From Genesis To Revelation and Trespass and also performed a great many gigs with the band before deciding to leave the band following a particularly bad bout of stage fright and also suffering a debilitating bout of bronchial pneumonia.

It was between the years 1970 and the release of his debut album The Geese And The Ghost in 1977 that many fans lost sight of Anthony Phillips. In actual fact much of the material that would make up the Geese And The Ghost and also the later Tarka album would be written during this time. Anthony also felt he needed to improve his arranging skills and musical education and learnt to sight-read music. It was also during this time that Ant continued writing with Mike Rutherford and recordings were made of songs like Silver Song, which included Mike Rutherford and also Phil Collins. Some of these early recordings and demos from this period can be found on the album The Archive Collection Volume One. Much of the first two albums and even material that would go on to be released on The Private Parts And Pieces series were originally written during this period which took on a stop start feel as the profile of Genesis became higher.

Private Parts and Pieces was originally released in the UK as a free bonus album as part of the Sides release. It was released as a stand alone album shortly afterwards in late 1978. The album is almost all acoustic based material that had been written between Ant leaving Genesis and the release of The Geese and The Ghost and includes the tracks Fields Of Eternity and Reaper.

Private Parts and Pieces Volume 2: Back To The Pavillion was released in early 1980 due to the incredible success of the original Private Parts and Pieces album. The album includes The Scottish Suite, Nocturne and K2.

This double CD release brings together the first two albums in the popular Private Parts and Pieces series and will appeal to the large and dedicated Anthony Phillips fan base and also newer fans who have discovered Ant’s music through the recent reissue programme.

Disc 1
1. Beauty and the Beast
2. Field of Eternity
3. Tibetan Yak-Music
4. Lullaby - Old Father Time
5. Harmonium in the Dust
6. Tregenna Afternoons
7. Stranger*
8. Reaper
9. Autumnal
10. Flamingo
11. Seven Long Years
12. Silver Song (Demo)*
13. Movement IV From Guitar Quintet* (*Bonus Tracks)
Disc 2
1. Salmon Leap
2. Parting Thistle
3. Electric Reaper
4. Amorphous, Cadaverous and Nebulous
5. Salmon's Last Sleepwalk
6. Lindsay
7. K2
8. Postlude: End of the Season
9. Heavens
10. Spring Meeting
11. Romany's Aria
12. Chinaman
13. Nocture
14. Magic Garden
15. Von Runkel's Yorker Music
16. Will O' The Wisp
17. Tremulous
18. I Saw You Today
19. Back To The Pavilion
20. Lucy An Illusion


Browse By Genre

New Releases
All the latest products

New and up-coming

Gonzo Web Radio
Interviews with Gonzo Artists

Gonzo Artists
Biographies, photos and more

Browse the Gonzo Label catalogue

Mailing List